I Actually Liked the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Movie

TURTLES[Disclaimer: this in NO WAY is intended to be an exhaustive review] I watched the new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie yesterday at an early 7:15 pm showing down here in sunny/rainy South Florida. I went in to the theater wanting to dislike it. I really did. Only, I didn’t. Ironically, the clamor of hatred thrown toward this movie, I’ve noticed, comes from people who haven’t seen it. What’s even more ironic, is that they stand for (what they think) are the “original” turtles – yahknow… the red, purple, orange, and blue pizza eating, funny, lovable party dudes. But the original turtles were different. They were darker, figuratively speaking. Sure, Bay’s story was a little different, but I thought it was still good. Reviews I’ve read after the fact have stated, for one, that the movie tries too hard to maintain that old turtle likability – pizza, humor and all. I didn’t get that feeling at all. I didn’t think the movie tried too hard to do anything.

I think the problem with surrounding yourself with reviews before seeing a movie is that you’re open to being influenced by the power of suggestion. It reminds me of a video I saw a while back where people were urged to enter a booth to watch a “hilarious” video. Upon entering, a very dry and unfunny video played. But, because the people were told that what they were about to watch was hilarious, the spectators watched and laughed. Some were totally losing it. And all because of the power of suggestion. The Christian Bale Batman movies are to Keaton Batman movies what the new turtles movie is to the originals. Anyhow, in honor of the movie, I decided to draw Master Splinter breastfeeding the young turtles. I drew it with a Sharpie pen and colored it with crayons. Check it out. Click to enlarge:

Leave a Reply

