New Commission Piece

WIPA few weeks ago, I was contacted to do a new commission piece. After hammering out some of the details I was able to get started last weekend. The dimensions for the canvas are 24″ x 38″, and the final product won’t be stretched. It’ll be framed between two sheets of acrylic. Originally, I was going to cut a section out of some canvas sheet, nail it to plywood and give it to them like that. But I didn’t want to put holes in it. So I was rattling my brain to figure out what to do. They’d take care of the framing, but the canvas would need to be stretched in the meantime because the loose canvas sheet will warp otherwise. Then my dad had a good idea. He suggested I just buy a 30″ x 40″ stretched canvas, measure out the 24″ x 38″ square within it, paint it, and give it like that. I thought it was a great idea. And so, that’s what I did. A canvas within a canvas. I’ve decided to document the progress of the piece via video, and speed it up to where it’s about 2 minutes. Anyhow, I’ll post more about that probably this Sunday, with photos, etc.

 

Leave a Reply

