Stay Gold

What happens when you wake up from a nightmare at 4:30 am and can’t go back to sleep? Well, in my case, I thought it would be a good time to take a stab at a caricature. I’ve never really tried too many of these. I love looking at them. I’m sure there’s some easy way of doing these. I was rattling my brain this morning trying to figure out what exactly folks are trained to do – what to look for, what to embellish. I decided to use Ralph Macchio as my guinea pig for this one, and specifically his character Johnny Cade from the Outsiders.

The other night, another sleepless night, I stayed up and watched the movie the Outsiders for the first time ever. Yah, I know. I suck. Anyways, I really liked it. The ending is obviously a downer. Especially Johnny’s final words to Ponyboy, “Stay gold.” Sad as heck. I only cried for an hour and a half after that. No BIGGIE. This morning I was feeling pretty sullen and decided to parody Johnny’s final words as a reflection of how I feel about myself. Instead of, “Stay gold, Ponyboy” I rearranged the words to “Stay moldin’, phony boy.” You can check out the image below. I drew it with a Sharpie pen and shaded it with a ballpoint pen. Click to enlarge:

Leave a Reply

