Remembering Ub Iwerks

Remembering Ub Iwerks

Most people compare my artwork to the guys from Spumco. I usually have someone say, “Hey, your stuff looks like Ren and Stimpy!” And Spumco no doubt had a big influence on me. But, if I had to choose a favorite cartoonist, and top influence, it would hands-down be Ub Iwerks. I’ve oftentimes joked that Silly Symphonies cartoons are what every cartoon should desire to be like when they grow up. But I mean it.  Those cartoons were very much a staple of my childhood. When I draw or paint or anything, those cartoons are very much in my mind, because they capture, to me, what cartoons should be like. In case you are unfamiliar with Iwerks, watch the earliest Disney cartoons. That was Iwerks. He created both Mickey Mouse and Oswald the Lucky Rabbit. And of course, he did Silly Symphonies cartoons.

Disney and Iwerks eventually split, and Iwerks started Iwerks Studios. He put out characters like Flip the Frog and Willie Whopper. His studio didnt get as much credit as it deserved. He later went on to work on some Looney Tunes episodes, as well as some special effects in Alfred Hitchcock’s the Birds. He later returned to work with Disney in the 40s, even helping to design rides for Disney in the 60s. This dude really is an unsung hero to cartooning. He was a silly guy who was known for drawing and animating quickly. He was a visionary and a genius. He would later die of a heart attack in the 70s. He was born March 24, 1901, and so I decided to commemorate this guy today. I suggest YouTubing his stuff. It’s great.

Leave a Reply

