Taking a (Duck) Stab at a Residents Sculpture

Tomorrow, I plan to make my way to Atlanta with my wife and two children to go see the Residents play. It’s their 40th anniversary tour. Though I’ve been a big fan for some time, it’ll be the first time I, and my wife, see them live. It’ll also be my childrens’ first concert since Monster Jam doesn’t count as a music concert. Needless to say, I’m really excited. So we left our South Florida home yesterday, stayed with friends in South GA last night and tonight, and will make the 4-5 hour trip tomorrow.

This has caused me to want to put together a piece inspired by the Residents. So I decided to put together a piece depicting the group riding on the back of a fabric eating moth, with Mr. Skull suspending a t-shirt in the air from a fishing pole in front of the moth to keep that baby flapping it’s wings. It’s about a foot and a half in length, and hangs all by itself. It was constructed with cardboard, and painted with watercolor. Anyhow, here it is. Click the images to enlarge:

One thought on “Taking a (Duck) Stab at a Residents Sculpture

  1. Pingback: The Moth Has Landed! | Christopher Ian Macfarlane

Leave a Reply

